Clubs

 

https://tinyurl.com/virtualfamilynight

Please watch this video before checking out all the amazing clubs and co-curriculars UNI has to offer!

Virtual clubs/CO-curricular fair!

List of Clubs w/ Detailed Information! 

Click on the hyperlink on the club/co-curricular name to see an introduction video!

 

Academic Clubs Meetings President Contact
Academic Decathlon Weekly David Lee uhsacadeca@gmail.com
Ethics Bowl Club Weekly Grace Jin gjin1704@gmail.com
FBLA Weekly Pranav Kanchi fbla.uhs@gmail.com
Girls Who Code Weekly Katherine McPhie katherinemcphie@gmail.com
Mock Trial Weekly Kasra Lekan unimocktrial@gmail.com
Model United Nations Weekly Carolyn Wang carolynw318@gmail.com
National History Day Monthly Amerdeep Passananti amerpassananti@gmail.com
Science Club Bi-Weekly Emily Zhang, James Chen scienceclub.uhs@gmail.com
SpaceSet Weekly Kasra Lekan and Sedong Hwang spaceset.uni@gmail.com
Speech and Debate Weekly Anthony Liang unihigh.sd@gmail.com
UHS Investment Club Weekly Charles Yates uhsinvestmentclub@gmail.com
Service Clubs Meetings President Contact
Books For Africa Bi-Weekly Rania Benromdhane rania.benromdhane@lilalions.com
Code Red Bi-Weekly Susanna Mathew, Kirah Andreychuk susanna.mathew@outlook.com
DREAMS Weekly Allison Kim allisonjkim1@gmail.com
Eco Club Weekly Ojal Mapuskar kortneymaeda@gmail.com
Girl Up Bi-Weekly Allison Yue & Sophia Wang allisonyue1111@gmail.com
HALO Dance For Autism Monthky Nina Zand ninafzand@yahoo.com
Justice Project Bi-Weekly Arush Mehrotra info@ocjusticeproject.org
Just For Kicks! Weekly Kaili Taagapera kailiktaag@gmail.com
Key Club Weekly Mimi Tran mimi22t@icloud.com
Laughter is the Best Medicine Club Weekly Austin Kaufman jonakfir@gmail.com
Leo Club Bi-Weekly Mikayla Castillo & Jani Ong mikaylaacastillo@gmail.com
Make A Wish Bi-Weekly Kate Weiland, Olivia Cho k_weiland@yahoo.com
Paws For Cause Bi-Weekly Iman Syed imansyed9@gmail.com
Reforestation club Bi-Weekly Deeti Shah dtmshah@yahoo.com
StempowerHer Bi-Weekly Diya Chakraborti chakdiya@gmail.com
TongueOut Bi-Weekly Joshua Nguyen joshuan2002@gmail.com
UHSSurfrider Bi-Weekly David Huang davidhuang1965@gmail.com
Youth Action Team (YAT) Bi-Weekly Christina Liu, Megan Ortiz christinaflorida@gmail.com
Interest Clubs Meetings President Contact
Computer Science Club Weekly Daniel Feng df314pi@gmail.com
Dungeons and Dragons Club Weekly Courday Farnam Hfireborn@gmail.com
Female Athlete Empowerment Club Bi-Weekly Eleanor Hanssler elliehanssler@icloud.com
Gender Sexuality Alliance Weekly Claire Lin and Andrew Bota uhsgendersexualityalliance@gmail.com
Girls Lacrosse Club Weekly Zoe Saito zssaito@icloud.com
Gray Matter Bi-Weekly Elaine Zhou, Ira Chaturvedi, Baani Sabharwal elaine.y.zhou2003@gmail.com
Just Smiles Bi-Weekly Samantha Wiedemann, Amerdeep Passananti samwiedemann22@gmail.com
LA Times High School Insider Bi-Weekly Erin Jeon erinjyjeon@gmail.com
Local Politics Club Bi-Weekly Evan Wolf evanwolf350@yahoo.com
Magic Club Weekly Anthony Liang geniusal18@gmail.com
Pink Ribbon Club Monthly Calvin Zuo jcalvinzuo@gmail.com
UHS Democrats Bi-Weekly Evan Wolf evanwolf350@yahoo.com
Write Here. Write Now. Bi-Weekly Allison van Erp/Alysa Feng allison.vanerp@gmail.com
Culture/Art Clubs Meetings President Contact
Animation Club Bi-Weekly Ashley Omiya ashleyomiya@gmail.com
Choir Club Bi-Weekly Rose Koo rosekoo51201@gmail.com
Drama Club Monthly Gino Torquato GinoTorquato31@gmail.com
Game Development Club Weekly Aditya Tyagi AdiTyagi285@gmail.com
Greek Culture Club Bi-Weekly Spiro Sun spirosun1@gmail.com
Junior Classical League (JCL) Weekly Esther Kim and David Min estherkimrocks@gmail.com
Orchestra Student Organization Class Period Allison Kim allisonjkim1@gmail.com
Orthodox Christian Club Bi-Weekly Spiro Sun, Gregory Soliman spirosun1@gmail.com
Persian Culture Club Bi-Weekly Jonanne Talebloo, Farimah Fanaei jjtalebloo@gmail.com
Spanish Club Weekly Samantha Wiedemann, Dani Zand samwiedemann22@gmail.com
Turkish Culture Club Bi-Weekly Eda Gokdogan edagokdogan@gmail.com
Co-Curriculars Meetings Teacher/Student President Contact
UNI_Technology&Engineering (UNITE) After School Tinh Tran tinhtran@iusd.org
UniHigheSports After School Tinh Tran tinhtran@iusd.org
Spanish Classes Class Period Genee Hansen geneehansen@iusd.org
Sword and Shield Class Period Martin Chinn executive.swordandshield@gmail.com
UHS Dance Company Class Period Diya Chakraborti chakdiya@gmail.com
UHS Orchestra Program Class Period Grace Lee gracelee@iusd.org
UHS Band Class Period Sam Dishon samueldishon949@gmail.com
UHS Color Guard Class Period Sam Dishon samueldishon949@gmail.com
UHS Choir Class Period Jason Olvey jasonolvey@iusd.org
UHS Theater Arts Class Period Ranae Bettger ranaebettger@iusd.org

 

 

To sign up for these clubs/Co-curricular email lists, please fill out this Google form:

Frequently asked questions

How do I start a club?

Freshmen are encouraged to explore the wide array of clubs available at UNI. New club proposals are only considered from sophomores, juniors, and seniors. The process to start a club begins in the first 2 weeks of each semester and requires you to attend the club registration meeting in the MPR.

 

How do I join a club?

Fill out the google form above in the VIRTUAL CLUBS/CO-CURRICULAR FAIR section. Clubs will contact you via email to post updates about meeting times, board applications, etc.

 

What if I don't join any clubs during 4/15 family night? Will I be able to join clubs later on?

Yes, you will! You can email any of the clubs at any time to be added to their email list. You can also attend any club interest meetings advertised on campus, and explore clubs first hand at the freshmen club showcase, which is a dedicated homeroom time for freshmen to explore clubs in the first month of school. 

 

Do you have tips for freshmen?

Yes! Explore as much as you can about clubs through family night and the full list of clubs. Put your name down in all the clubs you are even slightly interested in. We encourage you to try out many clubs at first, so you can choose which ones you want to stick with.

 

What is an "interest meeting"?

It is what it sounds like. It's every club's first meeting of the year where everyone is invited to learn and hear about the club. This is also a time where the club collects email addresses from prospective students.

Full 2019-2020 Clubs List

Minutes

The use of detailed minutes - noting the goings-on of a club meeting - is an important part of club procedure, increasing accountability, and highlighting needed changes. Turning in these minutes in a timely fashion is very important for the continued success of UHS clubs. 

 

Sample Meeting Minutes: https://tinyurl.com/samplemeetingminutes
Must have the signatures of: Secretary, Presiding Officer, Club Advisor.

 

Form to Turn-In Minutes: https://tinyurl.com/uhsminutesform
Every month, clubs are required to turn-in their meeting minutes on the second Tuesday of the month following their completion. 

 

Club finances

Registration

Online Registration: Check back next year!
President/Advisor Expectations form: https://bit.ly/2FVX43Y
Sample Constitution: https://bit.ly/2wgTpIF
 

For assistance, please contact the Clubs Commissioner at clubs@uhsasb.com